This page lists the names of all officers and council members of the Institute, with contact details wherever appropriate.

Are you a member of the Institute? We would like to collect members' email addresses to help us remain in touch with them, and we invite you to send yours to

Officers and council members

(Please replace AT with @ in the email addresses.  This is to stop robots sending us spam)


Prof Mark Bailey


Dr David Allen, BA, DAA, FSA, FRHistS
Jane Carr, BA
Dr Jane Fiske, JP, BA
Edward Martin, BA, FSA, MifA
Dr Joanna Martin
Clive Paine, BEd


Jo Caruth

Hon. General Secretary

Miriam Stead

Hon. Financial Secretary

Paul Tatum

Assistant Financial Secretary

Alison Brown

Hon. Proceedings Editor

Dr Jo Sear

Hon. Excursions Secretary

Jane Carr, BA

Hon. Newsletter Editor

Jane and Bob Carr This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Hon. Membership Secretary


Hon. Field Group Secretary

Lynda Bradley

Hon. Website Secretary

Keith Briggs PhD

Minutes Secretary

Peter Reilly

Ordinary members of council (as at 2024-07-02)

Vivienne Aldous
Lyn Boothman
Roger Curtis
Sara Doig

David Gill
Faye Minter
Jude Plouviez
Mike Theobald

Miriam Stead
Peter Wain


Faye Minter (Suffolk County Council Archaeological Service representative)
Kate Chantry (Suffolk Archives representative)