This page lists the names of all officers and council members of the Institute, with contact details wherever appropriate.

Are you a member of the Insititute? We would like to collect members' email addresses to help us remain in touch with them, and we invite you to send yours to

Officers and Council Members

(Please replace AT with @ in the email addresses.  This is to stop robots sending us spam)


Prof Mark Bailey

Vice Presidents

Dr David Allen, BA, DAA, FSA, FRHistS
Dr David Dymond, MA, HonLittD, FSA, FRHistS
Dr Jane Fiske, JP, BA
Edward Martin, BA, FSA, MifA
Brian Seward
Dr Stanley West, MA, FSA
Dr Joanna Martin
Clive Paine, BEd


Dr Nick Amor, MA

Hon. General Secretary

Jane Carr, BA

Hon. Assistant Secretary

Miriam Stead

Hon. Financial Secretary

Paul Tatum

Assistant Financial Secretary

Alison Brown

Hon. Proceedings Editor

Dr Jo Sear

Hon. Excursions Secretary

Clive Paine, BEd

Hon. Membership Secretary

Rosemary Mees

Hon. Field Group Secretary

Lynda Bradley

Hon. Website Secretary

Dr Keith Briggs PhD FIMA

Council members

Philip Aitkens
Vivienne Aldous
Keith Briggs
Jo Caruth
Sarah Doig
Faye Minter
John Rainer
Rev Tony Redman
Peter Reilly
Miriam Stead
Lisa Wall


Abby Antrobus
Kate Chantry